How Long Do I Have to File an Ohio Personal Injury Claim? May 10, 2012.
You have 2 years from the date of your injury to file an Ohio personal injury claim. Delaying legal action could impact your ability to recover damages that you may be entitled to. So if you have suffered serious injuries, it would be in your best interest to consult with a personal injury lawyer as soon as possible.
Some cases take longer to process, so the longer you wait, the more hurtful it could be. By moving quickly, your claim can be better protected. Although you have 2 years, there is a law in Ohio that could affect when the statute of limitations begins. This is the "discovery law" and it applies to cases where an injury may not be immediately evident.
Under this law you can pursue legal action from the time your injury was actually discovered, even if it was after the statute of limitations. For instance, if you underwent surgery and suffered complications, it may appear that it was related to the procedure.
However, more than 2 years later, you may eventually discover that the surgeon left a surgical tool inside you. If this was the actual cause for your injury, the discovery rule may come into play and you will still be able to file a personal injury claim.
Seeking Legal Help from an Ohio Personal Injury Lawyer
If you have suffered severe injury or have lost a loved one in an accident in Cleveland or surrounding areas, it is important that you act quickly to protect your rights. Contact us today at (440) 333-3800 for a free consultation.